fakro logo

Sponsor of the Mastic Asphalt Award

We are sponsoring the asphalt award as this is where the company began its business, repairing asphalt plant. We still feel very strongly about the benefits of asphalt so we thought it would be fitting to sponsor this category

Kim Wilkins—Company Director

Company Profile

In the post-war era, two brothers decided to set up their own business, which in those days was not about building something, but about making a living. There were no grand plans or a business model. Along with them were youngest brother, Terry, and Henry James ‘Pat’ Padwick, their half-brother.

The company landed in the sole stewardship of the youngest Horrod of the clan, Terry Horrod. Like his brothers he had learned his trade from the ground up, so losing them both from the company in the early 1980s, was particularly hard on him. But W J Horrod Ltd has a tradition of family, and family remain to this day.

Horrods believe that we can, and we must, design equipment to be both safe and efficient. We engage with all the NGOs within the industry, NFRC, MAC and Construction Health and Safety Group, and government bodies such as HSE. The company motto is SAFETY FIRST! Kim Wilkins, née Horrod, and brother Terry Horrod, now uphold the values of their father’s company. The third generation of Horrods is patiently working alongside, ready to take the company forward in the years to come.


Horrods--Hot Air Rubber Materials Melters
Horrods--SMS Thermostat Controlled Bitumen Boilers
Horrods--SwiftMelt - the most efficient asphalt mixer

Awards and Sponsor News

Call for project nominations for UK Roofing Awards 2021—as closing date now less than six weeks away

by Unknown | Jun 23, 2021

NFRC is reminding all roofing contractors that the deadline for entering the UK Roofing Awards 2021 is less than six weeks away—on 31 July. The awards, which usually take place in May, are taking place much later this year on 5 November at the Intercontinental London—at the O2.

The later date, which was as a result of restrictions on live events earlier this year, means that the cut-off date for entering awards by is also slightly different to previous years, and NFRC is keen to ensure that the industry is aware of the impending deadline so that roofing contractors don’t miss out on the chance to enter.

The 2021 Awards will consider any roofing or cladding project completed between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2020.  They are open to any roofing contractor who are members of NFRC, NFRC Competent Person Scheme (formerly CompetentRoofer) or another listed industry trade association.

Manufacturers, architects, specifiers and other stakeholders are welcome to submit projects, but they must ensure the roofing contractor is a member of one of the listed trade associations.

A new awards platform, AwardsForce, is being used for the 2021 Awards to make it easier for contractors and manufacturers to submit details of their projects for the relevant categories.

Commenting on the award nominations, NFRC Chief Executive James Talman said: “The UK Roofing Awards are all about recognising and rewarding outstanding standards of workmanship and safety across our industry. We know how busy roofing contractors are currently, but we do not want firms to miss out on this opportunity and that is why we are reminding firms to get entering projects before the deadline

Thanks to the new AwardsForce platform, entering for an award is easier than ever before. Once you have registered with the platform via the Roofing Awards website you can save your submission part completed if necessary, and return back later to complete whenever you wish. So make sure you enter for an award, and don’t let all your hard work on your projects during this pandemic go unrecognised!

I would like to offer particular thanks to all of our sponsors who have supported the 2021 Awards so far, including Radmat, BMI, SIG Roofing, QANW, Axter, GRO, WJ Horrod, Chandlers Roofing Supplies, Sika, Cupa Pizarras, Marley, EJOT, Recticel, FAKRO and Cromar

Award categories

Nominations are open for the following categories:

  • Bituminous Hot Applied Liquid Waterproofing—sponsored by Axte
  • Cold Applied Liquid Waterproofing
  • Fully Supported Metal
  • Green Roofing—sponsored by GRO
  • Heritage Roofing
  • Lead Roofing
  • Mastic Asphalt—sponsored by W J Horrod
  • Multi-discipline projects over £250k—sponsored by Chandlers
  • Rainscreen
  • Reinforced Bitumen Membranes—sponsored by Sika
  • Roof Slating—sponsored by Cupa Pizarras
  • Roof Tiling—sponsored by Marley
  • Sheeting & Cladding—sponsored by EJOT
  • Single Ply Roofing—sponsored by Recticel
  • Small Scale Project (Under £25k)—sponsored by Fakro
  • Industry Choice Award—sponsored by Radmat Building Products
  • Local Hero—sponsored by SIG Roofing
  • Roof of the Year Award—sponsored by SIG Roofing
  • Young Roofer of the Year—sponsored by BM

How to nominate an award

Any nominations should be submitted via the AwardsForce platform.

Entry criteria

More information regarding the entry criteria for the awards, including the list of eligible trade associations can be found on the UK Roofing Awards website.

Leave a comment